04.12.20 RFU Update - Information on travel between Tier 3 areas

04.12.20  RFU Update - Information on travel between Tier 3 areas

Following the RFU and Government guidance regarding the return of community rugby, we have received an update from DCMS (Department of Culture, Media and Sport) on the issue of travel within and between Tier 3 areas:

Currently the majority of the North East is in the Tier 3 category. This is split into two distinct areas:

• North East Combined Authority (Tier 3)
Consists of the seven councils: County Durham, Gateshead, Newcastle, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside and Sunderland.

• Tees Valley Combined Authority (Tier 3)
The five local authorities of Stockton-on-Tees, Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough and Redcar & Cleveland.

Government regulations state that there should be no travel outside of or between Tier 3 Combined Authority areas.

Therefore, clubs and individuals can travel and play within their Combined Authority Tier 3 area, but they cannot travel to another Tier 3 Combined Authority area to play rugby.

For example, if you live in County Durham, you are free to travel to Northumberland to play rugby because both locations are in the same Combined Authority area.

However, if you live in Hartlepool, you cannot travel to County Durham to play because this would mean you are travelling between Tees Valley Combined Authority and the North East Combined Authority.

This will clearly have implication for some clubs and individuals who play/reside across the different Tier 3 areas and you should ensure you fully understand and comply with the travel restrictions for your own circumstances.

Travel is permitted where it is necessary to enable sport for disabled people, sport for educational purposes, or supervised sport and physical activity for under-18s, to take place, but should still be minimised and kept to short distances only.

Further information

More details can be found on our Coronavirus Hub.

FAQs can be found here and will continue to be updated.

Latest UK Government Guidance can be found here.

Rugby Activity

We are now at Stage E on the Return to Community Rugby Roadmap.

Summary of law variations can be found here.

Return to Play webinar support can be found below:

Stage E - U7-U13
Stage E - U14-U18
Stage E - Adult